List of qualifying courses

Courses which qualify must be full time or part time with a Disabled Students' Allowance.

  • Postgraduate degree (for example PHD, MBA, MSc, PGCE, MPhil, M.ED, M.ST, LL.M).
  • Undergraduate degree (for example BA, BSc, BEd, BN).
  • Diploma of Higher Education (DipHE).
    - Business & Technical Education Council (BTEC). The following BTEC courses qualify:
    - Higher National Diploma (HND)
    - Higher National Certificate (HNC)
  • National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs) levels 4 and 5.
  • Foundation Degree - FDA (art based) or FDSc (science based) and/or subsequent one year full honours degree course.
  • Pre-registration or First Level Nursing and Midwifery Diploma.
  • Level 4+ Apprentice studying a Foundation, Bachelor's or Master's degree.
  • A foundation year which is an integral part of one of the courses listed above. We will need to see written proof of this, for example a letter from the college or university.

If there is any doubt whether a course qualifies, contact the university/college.