Top of main content
Couple laying on a couch

Currency Account

Easily manage your foreign currency

Managing your foreign currency

The HSBC Currency Account is an easy-to-manage currency holding account, with no monthly account fee. You can choose from 14 major currencies and open a separate account for each one to store, send and receive money. 

Designed to support your international lifestyle, with easy access to your account via online banking, you can manage your finances wherever you are in the world.

Account features:

  • No account fee

    There's no monthly fee for the account and no payment fee when sending money to another HSBC account anywhere in the world. You can also send money to non HSBC accounts outside the UK fees may apply.

  • Live exchange rates

    With live rates updated by the second during market hours, we'll provide you with our most up-to-date foreign exchange rate available when sending money.

  • Managing your payments

    You can create immediate payments to send money outside the UK, or set these up online up to a year in advance or on a recurring basis.

HSBC Currency Account

Find out how to apply for a HSBC Currency Account today

How to apply for a HSBC Currency Account

Are you eligible?


To apply for an HSBC Currency Account you need to:

  • hold an active HSBC current account (excluding Basic Bank Account)
  • be 18 years of age or over

If you're not yet an HSBC customer, find out more about our current accounts.

Apply online in minutes

If you’re an existing HSBC current account (excluding Basic Bank Account) customer, log on or register for online banking to apply.

Additional information

Frequently Asked Questions

You might also be interested in

a man is lying in a hammock

We deliver direct to your door or to your nearest branch. Enjoy fee free next working day delivery on all orders £100 or more.

Mother and son at the airport

Send money quickly and securely outside the UK using our International Payments service. Fees may apply

couple of feet
This link will open in a new window

Whether you’re planning to move, study, work or retire outside the UK. We’re here to help you get ready for a new adventure.

1European Economic Area includes Aland Islands, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Martinique, Mayotte, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portuga, Reunion, Romania, Saint Barthelemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, St-Martin, Sweden and Switzerland and UK

It’s easy to get in touch online. Talk to us directly through our chat channels.