Complaints and compliments

HSBC Online Banking activation

We're currently making improvements to our Online Banking service.

If you registered for Online Banking prior to the 17th December 2014 it's not possible for you to activate your existing Secure Key and you will need to re-start your registration.

If you registered for Online Banking after this date, please log on to Online Banking entering your username, memorable answer and your password, from here you will be prompted to activate your Secure Key.

We apologise for any inconvenience which this delay may cause. Once you are registered, we look forward to introducing you to Online Banking, including the exciting enhancements we're working on now.

Find out more
 

On 2 March 2017 the Financial Conduct Authority confirmed that the deadline for making a complaint about mis-sold PPI or unfair commission will be 29 August 2019.

Customer complaints will need to be received no later than 29 August 2019. This is the deadline even if we’ve invited you to complain previously.

The FCA regulate the financial sector and protect consumers. They offer information about PPI and can help you understand it, but they cannot give you advice about your individual circumstances or complaint.

What is PPI?

Payment Protection Insurance (PPI) is designed to cover the monthly repayments of your loan or credit card, if you are made unemployed, have an accident, become sick or die.

HSBC stopped selling Payment Protection Insurance in its branches in December 2007 and throughout the rest of its business during 2008. Prior to that time, 5 main products had been sold:

  • Personal Loan Protection Plan
  • Cardholder Repayment Plan
  • Flexiloan Repayment Protection
  • Mortgage Repayment Protection
  • Small Business Loan Protection
  • How to complain about PPI

    We're sorry that you have a concern about PPI and we promise to do our best to investigate your complaint as swiftly as we can. In any event, we'll be in touch within eight weeks.

    If you have already made a complaint, there's no need to do anything further, unless we advise you otherwise. We'll review it as soon as possible and then write to you confirming the outcome of our investigation.
    You can tell us about your complaint in the following ways:

    By Post
    Complete our PPI questionnaire and send it to us at:
    HSBC, PPI Complaints
    PO BOX 6177
    COVENTRY
    CV3 9HP

    By Phone
    03457 404 404 (Text phone 18001 08457 125 563)
    Lines are open from 8am to 8pm every day except for Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day. Calls may be monitored or recorded.

    Branch
    Complete our PPI questionnaire and take it to your Local Branch.

    By our online form:
    Using our Online PPI form is an easy and convenient way to submit your PPI mis-sell or non-disclosure of unfair commission complaint to us.
    The form takes up to 30 minutes to complete, however if you don't have all the information to hand, don't worry, you can still submit your complaint. You can't save your progress, so you'll need to make sure you have plenty of time to complete it.
    You'll need information about your PPI, including the policy or account number.

    Please be aware your information will only be used for the purpose of your PPI claim. If you wish to know more about how your information may be used, please click on the link below
    Privacy Notice.
  • How long will I have to wait before I receive a response? Clearly, we always want to be able to resolve any concerns you raise with us. We expect to resolve your complaint within eight weeks. In any event, we will be in touch within eight weeks to update you on our investigation. If you have not received a reply from us within eight weeks of raising your complaint, you have the right to refer your case to the Financial Ombudsman Service.

    The FCA has published details of the timescales for the handling of complaints relating to PPI, these are available on the FCA website .

    If you have already made a complaint, there's no need to do anything further. We will review it as soon as possible and then write to you confirming the outcome of our investigation.

  • I don't know if I had PPI, how can I find out?

    You can contact us using the details provided, or simply complete our free and easy to use PPI enquiry form and we will respond to you within 40 calendar days.

    The key information we need you to provide is:
    • Your full name
    • Date of birth
    • Current Address
    • Previous Address (if applicable)
    • A contact number
    • Whether you're an existing customer
    Giving us as much information as possible will help us locate your details.

    If you don't bank with us anymore and your details have changed, we may need to verify your identity using a credit reference agency. It will only be visible to you, and won't affect your credit rating.

Commission complaints

When a bank, lender or other provider sold a PPI policy, the PPI provider would pay them 'commission' for arranging or making the sale. The money for this commission would come out of the payments you made for the PPI policy.

The FCA have introduced new rules that mean customers can complain that their lender earned a high level of commission from the sale of PPI but didn't make this clear when it was sold.

A 'high level of commission' typically means it was more than half of what you’ve paid for your PPI policy, but you do not need to know how much was earned from the sale of PPI.

The new rules on the sale of PPI mean you can:

  • complain even if PPI was not mis-sold or you don't think it was mis-sold
  • complain again if you have had a PPI complaint rejected

You can submit a complaint about non-disclosure of unfair commissions, even if you've had a PPI mis-sell complaint rejected previously, by using one of the methods in the How to complain about PPI section above.

If you've already complained about PPI and had a refund of some or all of the money you've paid for PPI, we will not consider a complaint about the commission we earned.
This is because there is no remaining loss that you need to be compensated for, and you don't need to complain again.

Accessibility

For more information on additional assistance for our customers please visit the Accessibility section of our website.

If you feel you need some extra support or have any specific needs either call us on 03457 404 404 (Text phone 18001 08457 125 563) or let us know when you submit your complaint/enquiry.

Additional support and information is also offered by the follow bodies:

Financial Conduct Authority
Financial Ombudsman Service
Money Advice Service
Citizen's Advice Bureau

HSBC PPI Complaint Process

Step 1 PPI Complaint received, reviewed and logged onto our systems
Step 2 We'll acknowledge your complaint by letter - if you have raised a complaint via a Claims Management Company (CMC) this will be sent directly to them
Step 3 We gather all the background information regarding your complaint (this may include a phone call to you if we need any further information about the sale of your PPI)
Step 4a A mis-sell decision is made based on all of the evidence
Step 4b Any complaint that is rejected for mis-sell will automatically be assessed for unfair commissions
Step 5 If your complaint is rejected for both mis-sell and unfair commission: A response will be sent to you (or your representative) to inform you of our decision. If your complaint is upheld for either mis-sell or unfair commission: we will pay your refund into your HSBC account directly and send you (or your representative) a letter with a breakdown, or if you no longer bank with us we'll send you (or your representative) an offer letter.
Step 6 Once you accept the offer we will make the payment straight to your bank account.

Frequently asked questions

To make the whole process as straightforward as we can, we've listed below some frequently asked questions about PPI and further independent sources of information for you if you have any further questions.

What information do I need to provide?

Providing as much information as possible about the sale of your PPI will assist us in conducting a thorough investigation of your PPI complaint.

If you can't remember all the information, don't worry, you can still complain. We might need to contact you if we have a question about the information you've given us or we need more information.

If during the complaint process you remember some further details, or find a document that you think will help us with our investigation of your complaint, please send us the details as soon as possible.

I took PPI with HFC Bank, can I still complain?

Yes, in June 2013 accounts owned by HFC Bank Limited, Endeavour Personal Finance and Sterling Credit Limited were transferred and are now being serviced by HSBC Bank plc. A list of HFC Bank Limited's trading names can be found below.

If you wish to complain, simply complete our online PPI Claim Form and select the option that tells us your account was taken with HFC Bank and we will do the rest.

You can also write to us at:

HSBC, PPI Complaints
PO Box 5055,
Coventry,
CV3 9FB

Or call us on:

0345 602 3793
Lines are open from 9am to 5pm Monday - Friday. Calls may be monitored or recorded.

HFC Bank Limited, Endeavour Personal Finance and Sterling Credit Limited trading names:

- Beneficial Finance
- Household Bank
- Marbles
- GM Card
- Hamilton Direct Bank
- HFC Direct
- Endeavour Personal Loans
- EPF
- EPF Homeloans
- EPF Direct
- Sterling Credit
- Sterling Loans

HFC Bank stopped selling PPI during 2009.

A Claims Management Company has offered to handle my complaint for me. What should I do?

We will assess complaints sent directly to us in exactly the same way and in the same timescale as complaints sent in by a CMC, so there is no need to use their services. For independent guidance on how CMCs work visit the Which? website.

I cancelled my policy early, can I still make a complaint about PPI?

Although you may have cancelled your PPI policy early, you can still make a complaint by following the process outlined above.

Will complaining about PPI affect my relationship with HSBC?

No, if you feel you were mis-sold PPI we are happy to investigate your concerns. Your PPI complaint will be assessed separately to any other element of your relationship with us.

My circumstances have changed, can I still make a complaint about PPI?

Although your circumstances may have changed, you can still make a complaint by following the process outlined above.

How long will I have to wait before I receive a response?

We always want to be able to resolve any concerns you raise with us. We expect to resolve your complaint within eight weeks. In any event, we will be in touch within eight weeks to update you on our investigation. If you have not received a reply from us within eight weeks of raising your complaint, you have the right to refer your case to the Financial Ombudsman Service.

The FCA has published details of the timescales for the handling of complaints relating to PPI, these are available on the FCA website.

What can I do if I'm dissatisfied with your decision?

After receiving our decision if you remain dissatisfied you have the right to refer your complaint to:

Financial Ombudsman Service
Exchange Tower
London
E14 9SR

You can telephone them on 0300 123 9 123 or visit www.financial-ombudsman.org.uk for further information.

The Financial Ombudsman Service is a free, independent service for settling disputes between financial businesses and their customers. They can deal with complaints about a wide range of financial issues, including PPI.

If you complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service they will ask us to explain what we think happened, then the Financial Ombudsman Service will decide whether to uphold your complaint.

You will still be able to complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service after the 29 August 2019 deadline if:

  • we received your complaint before 29 August 2019
  • you complain to the Financial Ombudsman Service within 6 months of receiving your final decision from us

Other brands within the HSBC Group

Where else can I get more information and help on PPI complaints?

Need to speak to us?

Give our friendly team a call on:

03457 404 404

Textphone 18001 08457 125 563
Lines are open from 8am to 8pm every day except for Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day. Calls may be monitored or recorded.

Prefer to talk face-to-face?

Pop into your nearest branch for a chat.

Find a branch
Back to top